Thursday, January 19, 2012

Kennedy Center/NSO To Preview Soundworld Of Detlev Glanert's Operatic Trilogy "The Ship"

"Shoreless River, a National Symphony co-commission, is a brooding tone poem evoking images of water. This 18-minute piece is an excerpt from Glanert’s Das Holzschiff (The Wooden Ship), which received its premiere in Nuremberg in 2010—the first in a series of three operas to be based on Hans Henny Jahnn’s sprawling three-part 1937 novel "The Ship."

Kennedy Center/National Symphony Orchestra

[Discounted $20 tickets available for this winter concert.]

Photo credit: (c) Gregorio Borgia and Associated Press. Via Copyright controlled. All rights reserved.



Washington National Opera Announces
New Wave of Artistic Initiatives


Post a Comment

<< Home