Friday, May 21, 2010

What Dreams May Come

"Please note: Due to immigration/visa delays for the vocal ensemble EXAUDI, the San Francisco Symphony will replace Stravinsky’s choral work Threni, Lamentations of Jeremiah, with Stravinsky’s Ode (Triptychon for Orchestra) and Bernstein’s Chichester Psalms at performances May 19, 20, 21, and 23 in Davies Symphony Hall. Threni, Lamentations of Jeremiah will be rescheduled in a future season.

A concert where sacred and secular intertwine: Stravinsky’s neo-classical Ode is a solemn epitaph that evokes subjects from antiquity. Ravel’s music for the ballet Daphnis et Chloé conjures the world of Greek mythology in the language of Impressionism. Bernstein’s Chichester Psalms is raucous and reverent, epic and intimate, a spiritual testament that culminates in a plea for peace."

Image credit: Copyright controlled.


Post a Comment

<< Home