Thursday, November 01, 2007

Berlin Without Walls/ New York City Without Walls (What's Classical Music Got To Do With It? -- Undead Classical Cultures In America And Germany)

Oh, those foolish, friendly folk in New York City who think that Pan Cogito's ears and the WETA/WGMS-FM merger's ears should be interested in such stuff as follows (and upon which dreams and living cultures are made):

November 01, 2007
New York City
63°F Few clouds
WNYC Public Radio in the Nation's Cultural Capital

Tokyo/Vermont Counterpoint
Steve Reich
Mika Yoshida, MIDI marimba

Joan Tower
Robert Spring, clarinet

George Tsontakis
Stephen Hough, piano

A Jazz Symphony
George Antheil
Michael Linville, piano, Mark J. Inouye, trumpet
New World Symphony
Michael Tilson Thomas, conductor

Elegy for Violin and String Orchestra
Keith Jarrett
Michelle Makarski, violin
The Fairfield Orchestra
Thomas Crawford, conductor

New Morning for the World (1982)
Joseph Schwantner
Raymond Bazemore, narrator
Oregon Symphony
James DePreist, conductor

Night Rubrics
Stephen Hartke
Angela Schwartz, cello

Phoenix and Again
Dan Locklair
Slovak Radio Symphony Orchestra
Kirk Trevor, conductor

Anat Fort
Aaron Stewart, tenor saxophone, Anat Fort, piano

Valentin Silvestrov
Christoph Poppen, conductor
Munich Chamber Orchestra

Gloriana: The Courtly Dances
Benjamin Britten
English Symphony Orchestra
William Boughton, conductor

Chaconne (1963)
Sofia Guibadulina
Beatrice Rauchs, piano

Made in America
Joan Tower
Nashville Symphony Orchestra
Leonard Slatkin, conductor

String Quartet no 1 "Kreutzer"
Leos Janacek
Medici Quartet

All of the humans
Tangerine Awkestra
Katie Down, conductor

Arise, O Lord (Help us, O God)
William Byrd
Stefan Roberts, treble, Rogers Covey-Crump, tenor
Choir of Magdalen College, Oxford
Bill Ives, director

Trio Mediaeval

Tallahatchie Concerto
Jacob Ter Veldhuis (Jacob TV)
Arno Bornkamp, alto sax
Arnhem Philharmonic
Jurjen Hempel, conductor

Tango Seen from Ground Level
John Harbison
Alan Feinberg, piano

Piano Variations
Aaron Copland
Stephen Hough, piano

Piano Concerto No. 2 in B-flat, Op. 83
Johannes Brahms
Maurizio Pollini, piano
Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra
Claudio Abbado, conductor

I'll Build a Stairway to Paradise
George Gershwin
Royal Philharmonic Orchestra
Andrew Litton, conductor

The Threepenny Opera: Foxtrot Potpourri
Kurt Weill
Das Palast Orchester
H. K. Gruber, conductor

Fantasia on the Dargason
Gustav Holst
Cleveland Symphonic Winds
Frederick Fennell, conductor

Igor Stravinsky
English Bach Festival Chorus, Trinity Boys' Choir
English Bach Festival Orchestra
Leonard Bernstein, conductor

"Four 3"
John Cage
Martine Joste, piano and rainsticks, Jean Michaut, rainsticks
Dominique Alchourroun, piano and rainsticks
Ami Flammer, violin and rainsticks

Canto de cuna para los Huerfanos de Espan
Joaquin Nin
Thomas Tirino, piano

"Salve mater misericordie"
Anonymous English
Trio Mediaeval

Into the Labyrinth
Peter Maxwell Davies
Neil Mackie, tenor
Scottish Chamber Orchestra
Peter Maxwell Davies, conductor

Dance Symphony
Aaron Copland
St. Louis Symphony Orchestra
Leonard Slatkin, conductor

Lyric Suite
Alban Berg
Dawn Upshaw, soprano
Kronos Quartet

An Idyll for the Misbegotten
George Crumb
Zizi Mueller, flute

Satyagraha: Act III - conclusion
Philip Glass, arr. Michael Riesman
Donald Joyce, organ

Suite for Piano, Op. 14, SZ 62
Bela Bartok
Zoltan Kocsis, piano

Cinco bocetos
Roberto Sierra
David Krakauer, clarinet

Four Seasons: L'Autunno (Autumn)
Antonio Vivaldi
Fabio Biondi, violin
Europa Galante
Fabio Biondi, conductor

November Woods
Sir Arnold Bax
BBC Philharmonic
Vernon Handley, conductor

Missa "L'Homme Arme" super voces musicale
Josquin des Prez
Tallis Scholars
Peter Philips, conductor

Ancient Voices of Children
George Crumb
Michael Dash, boy soprano, Jan DeGaetani, mezzo-soprano
The Contemporary Chamber Ensemble
Arthur Weisberg, conductor

I am sitting in a room
Alvin Lucier
Alvin Lucier, vocals

String Quartet No. 8 in C Minor, Op. 110
Dmitri Shostakovich
Kronos Quartet

They Are There!
Charles Ives
Charles Ives, piano

Doom. A Sigh
Istvan Marta
Kronos Quartet

Spem in alium
Thomas Tallis
Kronos Quartet

Black Angels
George Crumb
Kronos Quartet

Toccata and Fugue in D Minor, BWV 565
Johann Sebastian Bach
Andrew Manze, violin

© 2007 WNYC Radio. All rights reserved.


Berlin Without Walls/ New York City Without Walls/ Washington, D.C. With Walls

Augustus Saint-Gaudens, 1848 Ireland–1907 USA, The Puritan, about 1899, bronze, 31 x 19 1/2 x 13 1/4 in., Smithsonian American Art Museum, Gift of the Samuel D. Chapin Family.

Photo credits: (c) Smithsonian American Art Museum, 2007; and (c) WNYC Radio. 2007. All rights reserved.


With thanks to American classical composer Ezequiel Viñao and TLON EDITIONS Music Publishers.


Post a Comment

<< Home