Monday, June 18, 2007

What Exactly Can Conservative Washington, D.C. Classical Music Audiences Expect When 'Alarm Will Sound' Performs At Library Of Congress Next Season?

"Alarm Will Sound is a band of twenty musicians from New York whose mission is to perform and to record contemporary music in the broadest sense of the word. In their brief history they have already created a stir in the USA with their new sound and their repertoire. Alongside a work composed especially for them by German composer Wolfgang Rihm and Sir Harrison Birtwistle’s Arcadiae Mechanicae Perpetuum they will also play [at the Holland Festival 2007] a dazzling mix of works by the mediaeval Ars Nova composer Johannes Ciconia, Conlon Nancarrow’s piano studies in an arrangement for the ensemble as well as an extract from John Adams’ Hoodoo Zephyr. The programme as a whole will be interspersed with ensemble versions of works by DJs and electronica heroes such as Autechre, Mochipet en Venetian Snares."

Scene from the 2005 production of Leos Janacek's From the House of the Dead at the Paris Opéra Bastille: José Van Dam as the newly arrived Alexander Petrovitch Gorianshikov and Jiri Sulzenko as the prison camp commandant.

[Click on image for enlargement.]

Photo credit: (c) Ruth Walz via With thanks.


Post a Comment

<< Home