Wednesday, July 20, 2005

The Inscription of 17 New UNESCO World Heritage Sites

Durban (South Africa) – The World Heritage Committee, chaired by Themba Wakashe, South Africa’s Deputy Director-General for Heritage and National Archives, today inscribed 17 cultural sites on UNESCO’s World Heritage List:

Albania – Museum-City of Gjirokastra

Bahrain - Qal'at al-Bahrain Archaeological Site

Belarus - Architectural, Residential and Cultural Complex of the Radziwill Family at Nesvizh

Belarus, Estonia, Finland, Latvia, Lithuania, Norway, Republic of Moldova, Russian Federation, Sweden, Ukraine - Struve Geodetic Arc

Belgium - Plantin-Moretus House–Workshops–Museum Complex

Bosnia and Herzegovina - Old Bridge Area of the Old City of Mostar

Chile - Humberstone and Santa Laura Saltpeter Works

China - Historic Centre of Macao

Cuba - Urban Historic Centre of Cienfuegos

France - Le Havre, the City Rebuilt by Auguste Perret

Iran - Soltaniyeh

Israel - Biblical Tells – Megiddo, Hazor, Beer Sheba

Israel - Incense Route / Cities in the Negev

Italy - Syracuse and the Rocky Necropolis of Pantalica

Nigeria - Osun-Osogbo Sacred Grove

Russian Federation - Historical Centre of the City of Yaroslavl

Turkmenistan - Kunya-Urgench

France and Belgium - Belfries of Belgium and France

Germany and the United Kingdom - Frontiers of the Roman Empire

India - Mountain Railways of India

South Africa – Fossil Hominid Sites of Sterkfontein, Swartkrans, Kromdraai and Environs

Spain - Works of Antoni Gaudí

UNESCO July 15, 2005

Architectural, Residential and Cultural Complex of the Radziwill
Family (16th c. to 1939) at Nesvizh, Belarus


Post a Comment

<< Home