Wednesday, March 14, 2012

The Library Of Congress Responds To The Proceeding ... And Doubles

with guest artist STEPHEN DRURY, piano

TUESDAY, APRIL 10, 2012 at 7:00pm
Library of Congress, Coolidge Auditorium, Washington, D.C.

The Arditti Quartet has earned a firm place in music history for its spirited and technically refined interpretations of contemporary music. Since its founding in 1974several hundred quartets and other chamber works written for the ensemble have left a permanent imprint on 20th century repertoire, with milestone collaborations with such composers such as Andriessen, Birtwistle, Carter, Denisov, Ferneyhough, Gubaidulina, Kurtág, Reynolds, Stockhausen and Xenakis.

To mark the Cage Centennial, Irvine Arditti and Stephen Drury perform a 1991 Cage violin and piano work commissioned by the McKim Fund Library of Congress, opening the program with this work at 7:00 pm; the concert will have two intermissions.

CAGE: Two4 (McKim Fund commission)


BERG: String Quartet, op. 3
BARTÓK: Quartet no. 4 in C Major


ADÈS: Four Quarters
BEETHOVEN: Grosse Fuge, op. 133

Photo credit: (c) Astrid Karger


Post a Comment

<< Home