Tuesday, March 27, 2012

Don't Let The Kids Tell You That There Is Nothing Interesting Going On Tomorrow Night (Or This Coming Saturday Night)

Henry Lawes (1595-1662)
Oft have I sworn I’d love no more
William Lawes (1602-1645)
Perfect and endless circles are
Or you, or I, nature did wrong
Daniel Norcombe (17th Century)
Tregian’s ground for bass viol and continuo
Henry Lawes (1595-1662)
Wither are all her false oaths blown?
William Lawes (1602-1645)
Why so pale and wan, fond lover?
Nicholas Lanier (1588-1666)
Neither sights, nor tears, nor mourning
Thomas Tomkins (1572-1656)
Ground MB 40 for harpsichord
Henry Lawes (1595-1662)
I rise and grieve
Bid me but live, and I will live
Wert thou yet fairer than thou art

- - Intermission - -

Henry Lawes (1595-1662)
When thou, poor excommunicate
Have you e’er seen the morning sun?
Slide soft you silver floods
O tell me love! O tell me fate!
Christopher Simpson (c. 1602-1669)
Ground for bass viol and continuo
Henry Lawes (1595-1662)
Sweet stay awhile; why do you rise?
William Lawes (1602-1645)
I’m sick of love
Nicholas Lanier (1588-1666)
No more shall meads be deck'd with flowers
John Playford (1623-1686)
The Queen’s delight / Lady Catherine Ogle, a new dance for treble viol and continuo
Henry Lawes (1595-1662)
Sleep soft, you cold clay cinders
Out upon it, I have lov’d
William Lawes (1602-1645)
Why should great beauty virtuous fame desire

French Embassy, House of Culture, Washington, D.C.


Haydn’s String Quartet, op. 54, no. 1
Beethoven’s String Quintet, op. 29
Brahms’ Clarinet Trio, op. 114.

Meyer Auditorium, Freer Gallery of Art, Washington, D.C.


Suk: Meditation, for quartet
Janacek: Selections from In the Mists, for solo piano
Janacek: String Quartet no. 1 (“Kreutzer Sonata”)
Dvorak: Piano Quintet in A minor, op. 81

Library of Congress, Washington, D.C.


And upcoming and also worth it:

PostClassical Ensemble: Schubert Uncorked - Saturday, March 31. Georgetown University, Washington, D.C.

As a part of this project, PostClassical Ensemble has commissioned of a trombone / chamber orchestra version of Schubert’s Arpeggione Sonata, which they believe will become the first “classical” bass trombone concerto to enter the repertoire.

Image credit: PostClassical Ensemble.


Post a Comment

<< Home