Tuesday, November 10, 2009

The Phillips Collection Now Playing Leading Role In New Music Renaissance In Nation's Capital

Dear Pan Cogito,

The Embassies of the European Union in Washington, DC and The Phillips Collection have joined forces to create an unprecedented concert series: “Leading European Composers”

This series is unique in that the composers will be present to introduce their works and that the performers are chosen directly by them. “Leading European Composers” will provide our audience with an exclusive opportunity to get a comprehensive perspective on the state of musical creation in Europe!

Be apart of the series début on Thursday, November 12 at 6pm in the beautiful Music Room of The Phillips Collection. The performance will feature French composer Tristan Murail and the Argento Chamber Ensemble with conductor Michael Galante.

WHAT: European Composers Series Début: Tristan Murail (details below )
WHEN: Thursday, November 12, at 6pm
WHERE: The Phillips Collection Music Room (1600 21st St, NW)
ADMISSION: General: $15; Members of The Phillips Collection: FREE
TICKETS: www.InstantSeats.com

We look forward to welcoming you to the “Leading Contemporary Composers” première at The Phillips Collection.

Warm regards,

Roland Celette
Cultural Attaché | Director of La Maison Française

Unanswered Questions - Tristan Murail - 5 min.
Feuilles à travers les cloches - Tristan Murail - 6 min.
Flicker - Michel Galante - 7 min.
Cloches d'adieu, et un sourire... in memoriam Olivier Messiaen - Tristan Murail - 3 min.
Piccola suite - Giacinto Scelsi - 9 min.
Satori - Allain Gaussin - 9 min.
Le Fou à pattes bleues (The Blue-Footed Booby) - Tristan Murail - 9 min.
Les Ruines circulaires - Tristan Murail - 5 min.
La Barque mystique - Tristan Murail - 12 min.

Human skin forms the colour chart in Synecdoche, by Byron Kim, a recent gift to the National Gallery of Art, Washington, D.C. Kim copied the hues from friends and strangers in 20-minute sittings. [The work may currently be under installation at the NGA.]

Photo credit: (c) Colin McPherson 2009. Copyright controlled.


Post a Comment

<< Home