Wednesday, September 09, 2009

Extra! Extra! Once Bizarre Kennedy Center Honors Awards Joins United States Of America In Declaring Independence From Great Britain!!

"Start spinning "Born in the U.S.A." The Kennedy Center unfolded its 2009 roster of five Kennedy Center honorees this morning, led by two quintessential leaders of the bands, Bruce Springsteen and Dave Brubeck.

Also to be honored this year, the center announced, are actor Robert De Niro, writer-director Mel Brooks and opera singer Grace Bumbry.

All are American-born innovative artists" ...

Jacqueline Trescott "Kennedy Center Reveals 2009 Honorees" Washington Post September 9, 2009


"Throughout the years, the Kennedy Center Honors has upheld a tradition of recognizing the lifelong accomplishments and extraordinary talents of our nations' [sic] most-prestigious artists [including, in the past five years, Pete Townshend & Roger Daltrey of The Who, Andrew Lloyd Webber, and Elton John].

The honorees are chosen by the Kennedy Center’s Board of Directors.


Header photo: British pop artists express disappointment that the Kennedy Center Honors Awards did not honor one of their own this year, as the bizarre Kennedy Center Honors Awards did in the past five seasons at the expense of American artists. Copyright controlled.


Post a Comment

<< Home