Wednesday, March 25, 2009

National Gallery of Art Integrates Modern American Classical Music With Its Outstanding National Collection of American Classical Paintings, Drawings

Today’s free concert, at noon, performed by the New York Chamber Soloists, at the superbly managed, state-supported, National Gallery of Art, Washington, D.C. [link to program notes]:

Arthur Berger (1912 - 2003)
Quartet in C Major for Flute, Oboe, Clarinet, and Bassoon (1941)
Allegro moderato
Allegro vivace e leggermente

Vincent Persichetti
(1915 – 1987)
Parable xiv for Unaccompanied Trumpet, op. 127 (1973)

Walter Piston (1894 – 1976)
Three pieces for Flute, Clarinet, and Bassoon (1926)
Allegro scherzando

Wallingford Riegger (1885 – 1961)
Duo for oboe and clarinet
From Duos for Three Woodwinds (1943)
Moderato; poco più mosso
Andante affettuoso
Thema e variazioni

Mel Powell (1923 – 1998)
Divertimento for Flute, Oboe, Clarinet, Bassoon, and Trumpet (1956)
Con tenerezza
Allegro comodo


Header images:

Joshua Johnson
The Westwood Children, c. 1807
Gift of Edgar William and Bernice Chrysler Garbisch

Joshua Johnson was a free black artist who worked in Baltimore, Maryland, during the late eighteenth and early nineteenth centuries.

The 6-foot-high plaster working model of the celebrated seated Lincoln statue by American sculptor Daniel Chester French(1850–1931), designed for the Lincoln Memorial on the National Mall, is on view at the nation's state-supported National Gallery of Art in honor of President Abraham Lincoln's 200th birthday.

Both images copyright © 2009 National Gallery of Art, Washington DC.


Blogger JW said...

Interesting program, though Persichetti could have been represented by something more, er, representative. Walter Simmons considers him one of the American greats, and his new book goes into great detail to demonstrate thus.

8:44 AM  

Post a Comment

<< Home