Friday, June 27, 2008

At Noon Friday, Fifteen Tickets Remain To National Symphony Orchestra Celebration Of Shostakovich, Aaron Copland And American Classical Music Culture

Extra! Extra! National Symphony Orchestra musicians celebrate Aaron Copland and American Classical Music, while Sharon Percy Rockefeller's Classical WETA-FM, in the Nation's Capital, celebrates Frederick the Great of Prussia and Exclusively European Classical Music!


Today, the National Symphony Orchestra -- by lowering remaining ticket prices to $20 -- virtually assured itself a second sold-out classical concert in a row for its 2400+ seat Concert Hall. (See yesterday's post.)

Just after noon on Friday, the complete orchestra level and box and first tiers were completely sold-out, and only about 15 tickets remained for seats in the Second Tier Center (at $45 each without the quasi-secret code, in yesterday's post; and $20 with the quasi-secret code in yesterday's post).


At the same time that the National Symphony Orchestra and the John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts are trying to affirm America's classical musical culture, Sharon Percy Rockefeller's Classical WETA-FM, in the Nation's Capital, continues to try to repress the development of American classical musical culture.

Those not fortunate to attend last night's, or tonight's, sold-out National Symphony Orchestra concerts celebrating Shostakovich and Copland, could tune in to so-called public radio, in the Nation's Capital, for the following exclusively non-American classical programming:

Sharon Percy Rockefeller's Concept of Responsible Public Classical Broadcasting in the Nation's Capital for Thursday evening, June 27, 2008:

8:01pm: Festive Overture in D Major, Op. 4
Bedrich Smetana
Janacek Philharmonic Orchestra
Theodore Kuchar (conductor)
Brilliant Classics 93634

8:12pm: Piano Quintet "The Trout"
Franz Schubert
Nash Ensemble
MCA 25867

9:01pm: Flute Sonata G Minor (BWV 1020)
Johann Sebastian Bach
Irena Grafenauer (flute)
Maria Graf (harp)
David Geringas (cello)
Philips 422.061

9:15pm: Violin Sonata #9 "Kreutzer"
Ludwig van Beethoven
Anne-Sophie Mutter (violin)
Lambert Orkis (piano)
DG 457.619

10:01pm: Concerto, RV 441
Antonio Vivaldi
Camerata Cologne
D. Harmonia Mundi 77016

10:14pm: Symphony #2
Sergei Rachmaninoff
Russian National Orchestra
Mikhail Pletnev (conductor)
DG 439.888


Sharon Percy Rockefeller's Concept of Responsible Public Classical Broadcasting in the Nation's Capital for Friday evening, June 28, 2008:

8:01pm: Concerto, RV 498
Antonio Vivaldi
Martin Gatt (bassoon)
Academy of St. Martin in the Fields
Sir Neville Marriner (conductor)
Decca 0006627

8:15pm: Symphony #7
Ludwig van Beethoven
North German Radio Symphony Orchestr
Gunter Wand (conductor)
EMI 49622

9:01pm: Concerto Grosso, Op. 6 #1
George Frideric Handel
Academy of St. Martin in the Fields
Iona Brown (conductor)
Philips 410.048

9:15pm: Impromptu G-flat Major (Op. 51)
Franz Schubert
Wilhelm Kempff (piano)
DG 0007434

9:22pm: Symphony #1
Johannes Brahms
Cleveland Orchestra
George Szell (conductor)
CBS 37775

10:01pm: Symphony G Major
Frederick the Great of Prussia
CPE Bach Chamber Orchestra
Hartmut Haenchen (conductor)
Capriccio 10.064

10:14pm: Divertimento, K. 334
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Academy of St. Martin in the Fields
Philips 411.102


Final Score on Sharon Percy Rockefeller -- and her limousine liberal Friends of Classical WETA-FM, in the Nation's Capital:

Frederick the Great of Prussia, European Classical Music, and the Russian National Orchestra: 1

Aaron Copland, American Classical Music, and the National Symphony Orchestra (of Washington, D.C.): 0

Oakland Oaks' manager Casey Stengel rides in the victory parade in celebration of the Oaks 1948 Pacific Coast League Championship. October, 1948. Photographer: Tommy McDonough.

A long way from home, Pfc. Clairborne L. Shaw of Oakland at Chu Lai, Vietnam, June 4, 1966. Oakland Tribune Collection, Gift of ANG Newspapers.

Photo credits: (c) Copyright controlled via the Oakland Museum of California, The Oakland Tribune Collection. With thanks.


Post a Comment

<< Home