Tuesday, June 06, 2006

National Symphony Orchestra, In Washington, D.C., To Offer Bonus World Premiere During 2006-2007 Season

Greetings From Music Director Leonard Slatkin

"Welcome to the 2006-2007 season of the National Symphony Orchestra. I am pleased to offer you an outstanding mix of music and artists. This season will be marked by some of the world's finest musicians, not the least of whom are members of the Orchestra.

I believe we have an excellent blend of the familiar and unfamiliar. There will be four world premieres, as well as several works new to the NSO. But we are not neglecting the traditional works that have stood the test of time. This season promises to be one of our most exciting, and I hope all of you can join us in this great adventure."

National Symphony Orchestra 2006-2007 Season Brochure.

Let's find the world premieres:

J. Lee III Beyond Rivers of Vision World Premiere

Bates Liquid Interface World Premiere

Higdon Piano Concerto (with Lang Lang) World Premiere

F.J. Berg Concerto for Alto Flute and Orchestra (with Sir James Galway) World Premiere

Adamo Four Angels for Harp and Orchestra (with Dotian Levalier) World Premiere

Other works by living composers include:

Harvey's ... towards a Pure Land (American premiere, under young guest conductor Ilan Volkov)

Henderson's Einstein's Violin(under NSO's new principal guest conductor Ivan Fischer)

Adams's Harmonielehre (in Celebration of composer John Adams's 60th birthday)

Aho's Symphonic Dances: Hommage a Uuno Klami (under guest conductor Osmo Vanska)

Peter Schickele's PDQ Bach's Koncertshtick for Two Violins Mit Orchestra and more (under the composer's direction)

Additional conductors making their NSO debuts during this period of orchestral transition include:

Manfred Honeck in a conservative program of Verdi, Saint-Saens and Tchaikovsky

Emmanuel Krivine leading Julia Fischer in Khachaturian's Violin Concerto

Distinguished conductors Mstislav Rostropovich and Jiri Belohlavek also return to lead programs of Shostakovich, and Mozart and Czech composers.


Statue of early American orchestral musician at the new National Museum of the American Indian, Smithsonian Institution, Washington, D.C.


Photo credit: (c) Erin Dennington www.leanasidhe.com/ aimuseum.html With many thanks.


Blogger leanasidhe said...

Wow. A little strange to see a random person linking to my photo! Thanks for giving me credit. :)

5:48 PM  
Blogger Garth Trinkl said...

erin -- thanks for your note that you found your photo and for your permission to continue using it (I hope!). I have added your name to the copyright notice. Sorry for omitting it before.

I must have been in a hurry, and had assumed that you were a professional curatorial photographer, since it is such a great photo and I had thought that the glass of the display had been removed.

I also just saw on your site's photo gallery, and really liked, your photos from New Orleans. They made the NO folk music I heard on Saturday night come alive.

Thanks again for your note.

6:00 AM  
Blogger leanasidhe said...

You are most welcome. :)

Yes, you may continue using the photo. Thank you for updating the information!

Nope, not a professional photographer; just someone that enjoys taking photos!

I'm glad that you liked the New Orleans photos. My husband and I were there just a couple of months before Hurricane Katrina; a lot of the areas that I took photos of no longer look the same.

6:18 AM  

Post a Comment

<< Home